Chair Wm. Weston J. Newton

First Vice-Chair: Joseph H. Jefferson, Jr.

Kambrell H. Garvin Rosalyn D. Henderson-Myers Jeffrey E. "Jeff" Johnson John R. McCravy, III Adam M. Morgan Melissa Lackey Oremus Marvin R. Pendarvis Tommy M. Stringer Chris Wooten

Jennifer L. Dobson Research Director

Cathy A. Greer Administration Coordinator

Legislative Oversight Committee



South Carolina House of Representatives

Post Office Box 11867 Columbia, South Carolina 29211 Telephone: (803) 212-6810 • Fax: (803) 212-6811 Room 228 Blatt Building Gil Gatch William M. "Bill" Hixon Kimberly O. Johnson Josiah Magnuson Timothy A. "Tim" McGinnis Travis A. Moore Russell L. Ott Michael F. Rivers, Sr. John Taliaferro (Jay) West, IV

Charles L. Appleby, IV Legal Counsel

Lewis Carter Research Analyst/Auditor

Riley E. McCullough Research Analyst

Legislative Oversight Committee

Thursday, April 15, 2021

1:00 pm or 30 minutes after adjournment of the House, whichever is later Blatt Room 110

Archived Video Available

I. Pursuant to House Legislative Oversight Committee Rule 6.7, South Carolina ETV was allowed access for streaming the meeting. You may access an archived video of this meeting by visiting the South Carolina General Assembly's website (http://www.scstatehouse.gov) and clicking on *Committee Postings and Reports*, then under *House Standing Committees* click on *Legislative Oversight*. Then, click on *Video Archives* for a listing of archived videos for the Committee.

Attendance

I. The Education and Cultural Subcommittee meeting was called to order by Chair Jeffrey E. "Jeff" Johnson on Thursday, April 15, 2021, in Room 110 of the Blatt Building. All members except Representative Tommy Stringer were present for all of the meeting.

Minutes

I. House Rule 4.5 requires standing committees to prepare and make available to the public the minutes of committee meetings, but the minutes do not have to be verbatim accounts of meetings.

Discussion of Arts Commission

- Chair Johnson swears in Ms. Milly Hough, Senior Deputy Director for the Arts Commission, Ms. Ashley Brown, Deputy Director of the Arts Commission, and Ms. Angela Brewbaker, Finance Director. Also, Chair Johnson reminds Mr. David Platt, Executive Director for the Arts Commission, that he remains under oath.
- II. Director Platt provides brief comments related to:
 - a. outline of future presentations;
 - b. agency overview:
 - c. agency history;
 - d. governing body and agency director;
 - e. staff overview; and
 - f. federal/local counterparts.
- III. Subcommittee members ask questions relating to the following:
 - a. Canvass of the Population;
 - b. development of the agency's new strategic plan;
 - c. agency's performance measures;
 - d. sustainable careers in art;
 - e. arts-rich school designation;
 - f. commissioners: accessibility online of meetings; terms of office; and filling expired terms;
 - g. staff leadership development opportunities; and
 - h. agency staffing levels.

Agency staff respond to the members' questions.

Adjournment

I. There being no further business, the meeting is adjourned.